Image

It’s 2:03 am and I’m watching old music videos with my sister in the living room and I began to ponder nostalgically on how my Christmas vacation was spent. So of course I grab my laptop and begin typing; and where’s the best place I can blog freely about anything, anytime? Well here. I think about the Christmas ornaments, the tree, the numerous lights all over the house, the Christmas carols, the smell of the steaming turkey/pork, the sweet scent of “flan” being cooked in the kitchen… I look back and think how wonderful my life is and how blessed I am to have an amazing family with continuos traditions. The first people that come to mind when I think back on Christmas vacation 2012 are my three little cousins.

Emilio Alonso, Diego Lorenzo and Gabriela Isabel (Gaby). Each one of them with their different personalities and awesome being. Emilio, the oldest of the three, always cautious of his little sister Gaby and younger brother Diego. I look back and remember throughout these 2 weeks of them being here, Emilio would go to my room everyday just to say “Buenos Dias”, that-those mornings were worth getting up to. His constant nag of wanting to play Mega Run or his “ven, playa” was definitely worth the going. A 7 year old with a vivid imagination and a brilliant mind made my Christmas break ten times more worth while. Diego, a 3 year old munchkin also known as “Muñeco” is probably the cutest boy I’ve ever seen. His witty, creative personality and smile full of joy just lit the whole house and filled my heart with happiness. His pickiness to eat was difficult but when you finally found something and he approves of it-the feeling is as if you’ve won a trophy. His random, playful moments with everyone were priceless. Gaby, the leader of the pack (yes, a girl-’cause girls rule this world just in case you didn’t know) was the princess of the house. Her energy and never ending laugh was like my mediator-it will heal the worst of pain in anyone. Gaby’s demand for her “bobo” was like an order from your boss to get some files done-yeah. These three angels: Gaby, Diego and Emilio were definitely the highlight of my vacation and their running around asking for “leche” will always be present, through them I see how innocence is a beholder of a child and how a smile or gesture from them can practically change the world. When they grow old they will read this and probably tear up the way I am now :’) Thank you God for an unforgettable vacation and may there be more to come!

Image