Absolutely love this book. Top on my list.

Tweed Librarian

“I’ve been drunk for about a week now, and I thought it might sober me up to sit in a library.” – from Ch. 3

I hadn’t read F. Scott Fitzgerald’s book in many, many years but my friend Fred, who knows how much I enjoy the 1920s, loaned me his copy. I’d read it in high school but liked it much more this go ’round. As a novel about finding one’s moral compass amid the excess and materialism of the post WWI era, I found the story relevant even today. It evoked a melancholy feeling of misplaced priorities and unhappy excess underlying a certain segment of society; I’m not sure how far away our own society is from such excess. And the obsession and misplaced longing for someone is depressing but a part of human nature.

What’s great about the book is the evocative language – I read some passages a number of times…

View original post 159 more words